The Web Search This Site

        ​    Specializing in Asia by Covering the Globe             Boston |  Bangkok | Beijing | Bombay

ASEAN Profile: Singapore

We’ll go behind the economic scenarios of each of the 10-member ASEAN countries to report on and evaluate robotics and automation: the business motivations, the technology, the investment potential and the near-term impacts as the ASEAN  comes face to face with the Fourth Industrial Revolution.

Our debut ASEAN article: 
Singapore: Seeking a Bridge Between
Singapore’s Robot Imperative: From Adding Value to Creating Value

                                “Unless you have economic growth, you die."
                                                            —Goh Keng Swee (1918-2010)                                                           Former Second Deputy Prime Minister of  Singapore

ASEAN Economic Community (AEC)

Robotics & Automation News, Analysis & Opinion

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam then joined on 7 January 1984, Viet Nam on 28 July 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar on 23 July 1997, and Cambodia on 30 April 1999, making up what is today the ten Member States of ASEAN.

As set out in the ASEAN Declaration, the aims and purposes of ASEAN are: To accelerate the economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region through joint endeavours in the spirit of equality and partnership in order to strengthen the foundation for a prosperous and peaceful community of Southeast Asian Nations​.                                                                                                     

                                                                                                               —ASEAN Economic Community

The ASEAN Economic Community (AEC), signed on November 22, 2015 in Kuala Lumpur by the leading nations of Southeast Asia finally entered into force with much fanfare on December 31, heralding the “awakening” of what could be defined as a new Asian power bloc.

Almost echoing the European Union’s Common Market of the 1950s, ASEAN seeks to allow for the free movement of goods, services and skilled labor, a major departure from what has been considered since the earliest days of its existence as a political project for peaceful regional integration.

                                                                                                                                                   —The Diplomat